Dyslexia actually has some advantages…

Fancy that now….so there is actually a sugar coating to the misery of depression, poor self esteem and lack of self confidence, general under-achievement and serious anger issues that I like many other dyslexic have been left with thanks to our unpleasant brush with formal education. (I’m not including University in this, my uni experiences are almost all highly positive.)

Quite a few dyslexia-positive sites will give lists of the numerous advantages we have but I found the best summary at Dyslexia Advantage, they’d even got a nice acroynm for it, MIND. Apparently your avarage dyslexic won’t exhibit all of these traits but will definitely have one, maybe two if they’re lucky.

Material Reasoning – Reasoning about the position, form and movement of objects in 3d space.

I’ve heard some people describe having video screens in their minds. Personally it’s more like I’ve got an entire film studio complete with multilpe stage sets, lighting and atmospheric control, a few crew, actors, everything you can imagine…and all of it I can manipulate at the drop of a hat.

Interconected Reasoning The ability to spot, understand and reason about connections and relationships.

Absolutely essential for true creative thinking, out-of-the-box creativity. Take two unrelated and apparently incompatible things and put them together in new and interesting ways…and probably why writing cross-over fanfiction really appeals to some people. I will admit it I read things and then think “oh but this would be brilliant crossed with…” Things just click together in new and exciting ways.

Narrative Reasoning Ability to reason using fragments of memory formed from past personal experience.

I’m not sure I quite understand this one, I’m pretty certain I don’t do this.  At all.

Dynamic ReasoningAbility to accurately predict using patterns derived through experincing the future or the unwitnessed past.

Apart from sounding like clairvoyance I suspect that this one is probably very useful for business and the like, being able to think several moves ahead of everyone around you, or how about playing chess…

 

Leave a Reply

