Drawing the Moon

A return to my drawing ways and hopefully an end to the blasted block. I used an number of images of the full moon as reference for this. The background was done with an 8B pencil in more layers than I thought I would need, while the body of the moon was done with a 4B pencil. There was no smudging and I did my best to avoid pressing on hard, even though it can be so tempting.

moon drawing in progress

 

This took nearly six months to complete and I nearly came to a grinding halt at several points but I just grit my teeth and kept slogging on. I think the results were well worth it. I got it framed just to remind myself – I can do this.

final moon framed

 

 

One thought on “Drawing the Moon

Leave a Reply

