Painting in the GIMP

I admit I’m tending to use fan-art as an excuse to experiment with digital techniques. I think it’s because I see it as “not serious” so I can experiment, play around with techniques and just really enjoy myself. The results really play dividends.

So this started off as a photo of an actual model which I painted over just using the simple round brush tool. The sky background is another photo which I blurred up a bit and added a bit of texture to so it would blend in with the painting. The only bit really that I dislike is the lettering on the shoulder trim but that’s just practice I suppose.

Leave a Reply

